Remote mode is for when all participants are meeting virtually. You, as host, will admit everyone into the meeting and be able to control the whole playlist using the menu functions. Think of it as a Zoom-style meeting but with video that work seamlessly and all the content you need ready and available in the virtual room for you to share with your group. No awkward screen-sharing involved (although it does also support screen-sharing if you need it).
Remote mode basic instructions
The controls are kept as simple as possible, while making sure you can navigate smoothly and easily while leading a small group. As host you have an expanded range of options to help you keep meetings running smoothly.
Starting from the top, if you look to the right-hand side you will see a number of menu options, depending on what is available for your chosen course. These can all be toggled on and off so they appear in the main window or can be collapsed into the side bar.
It starts with the ‘playlist’ button which, when you click on it, will show you each element in the playlist for that session in order, and you can also choose the Session you will be doing that week by clicking on the ‘Change Session’ drop down menu. You will also be able to see any notes for you, as facilitator, against each of the elements of a session. You will also see an option called ‘grid’ which can be used to bring all the participant windows up for a discussion and then unclicked to return to where you left off in the session.
Next comes the ‘chat’ function. This allows participants to chat to all members of the group and also will list any activity such as who has joined or left any meeting.
The ‘participants’ button allows you to admit people into the meetings, make people into additional hosts to help you run the session, and, if necessary, remove people. You can also keep an eye on the ‘talk time’ of all participants which can help spot if someone is dominating the group or perhaps feels too shy or nervous to speak up.
You may then see the ‘downloads’ button. This will give any participant access to downloadable resources that go along with your course, often in PDF format. Also, check to see if there are any additional leaders’ notes that can help you as you facilitate the group.
If there are physical products recommended as part of your course these can be found in the ‘products’ button and purchases can be made from within Churchrooms.
Then, along the bottom of the screen are your meeting controls:
Starting from the left, you have the ‘mute actions’, which are: ‘mute all’, ‘mute all except me’, and ‘mute all except hosts’ which can be used when you have added co-hosts. You then have the button to mute yourself.
The next two buttons turn your microphone and camera on or off respectively.
Then you have the share screen option, from which you can choose which host to share if there is more than one host, and which window or browser tab you want to share.
Next are the settings options, from where you can choose your camera and microphone inputs as well as other options.
Finally, you have the ‘leave’ button in red, and you will get a check to see if you just want to leave the room or if you want to end the session for everyone.
Was this article helpful?
Thank you for your feedback
Sorry! We couldn't be helpful
Thank you for your feedback
We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article